Texas DWI Punishment Gets Tougher for First Time Offenders. Again.

September 11, 2011

By Dallas and Collin County Criminal Defense Lawyer Jeremy Rosenthal


(972) 562-7549

A person with a blood alcohol concentration with a 0.15 or higher at the time the test is taken can now be charged with a Class A misdemeanor DWI instead of a Class B if it is their first offense.  This change took effect as of September 1, 2011.

First, let’s discuss the practical effects of the change.  A Class A misdemeanor on a DWI is punishable between 30 days and 1 year of county jail and a fine not to exceed $4,000.  A Class B DWI is punishable by between 72 hours jail and 180 days and a fine not to exceed $2,000.   Unlike a 2nd DWI, however, this law does not require the defendant serve 10 days as a term and condition of probation — meaning that a person doesn’t have to go to jail for 10 days just to be granted probation.

Second, you can see that I’ve italicized the words above “at the time the test is taken.”  This is a significant departure from normal drunk driving law which prohibits one’s blood/ alcohol concentration being above a 0.08 at the time of driving.  This is a “tie goes to the prosecutor” provision because it is very difficult for prosecutors to prove whether a person’s blood alcohol concentration was higher or lower at the time of driving due to a process known as retrograde extrapolation.  So this twist is really just punishing people who have blood alcohol concentrations that are on the rise when they are driving.

Texas’ prosecutorial mentality of “when you have a hammer, everything looks like a nail” with this new change gives a person even more incentive to refuse a breath test and to take a DWI to trial.

*Jeremy F. Rosenthal is an attorney licensed to practice in the State of Texas.  Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice.  For legal advice about any situation, you should contact a lawyer directly.  Contacting the attorney through this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship and no communication is considered privileged.


The Difference Between DUI and DWI in Texas

March 22, 2010

By Collin County Criminal Defense Lawyer Jeremy Rosenthal

(972) 369-0577


Every state has laws preventing drunk driving.  Some call their laws DWI (driving while intoxicated) and some call it DUI (driving under the influence).  Texas actually has both, but there is a big difference between the two.

DUI – Minors

Only a minor can commit a DUI in Texas.  A DUI is where a person under 21-years of age has consumed any detectible amount of alcohol and is operating a motor vehicle.  A DWI can be committed by anyone (including minors) who do not have the normal use of their mental or physical faculties due to the introduction of drugs, dangerous drugs, or other substances into the body and are operating a motor vehicle.

A DUI is a Class c misdemeanor meaning it is the lowest level offense and it’s typically handed by a justice of the peace or at the municipal level.  The maximum fine is $500 and there is a big push in those cases towards rehabilitation, community service, and alcohol eduction.  The burden is clearly lower for those cases as the state only needs to show the driver consumed, “a detectible amount of alcohol.”  Both offenses carry possible drivers license suspensions.

DWI – Both Adults and Minors

A DWI is a class b misdemeanor punishable between 72 hours and 180 days jail and/or a fine not to exceed $2,000.  Generally speaking, a DWI is what people are referring to in Texas when they talk about drunk driving laws.

Jeremy F. Rosenthal

(972) 562-7549

*Jeremy Rosenthal is an attorney licensed to practice in the State of Texas.  Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice.  For legal advice, you should consult an attorney.

Visit my website.